About Us

Established in 1962, the Androscoggin Valley Council of Governments is a regional planning agency serving the Western Maine communities of Androscoggin, Franklin, and Oxford Counties. AVCOG is a not for profit, 501(c)(3) agency, exclusively owned and operated by member communities, who join on a voluntary basis. An Executive Committee sets policy and oversees the operations of the Council, in consultation with appointed representatives from member communities and counties.

Sharing a border with New Hampshire and Quebec, the AVCOG region covers over 4,200 square miles of forested mountains and fields carved by pristine lakes and rivers. The Twin Cities of Lewiston and Auburn, located in the southern portion of the district, share a combined population of 59,000 people, making it the largest hub in the region. The remaining population of 137,000 is scattered over 75 small towns, townships, plantations, and unorganized territories. With a healthy abundance of natural resources, Western Maine is home to a vibrant manufacturing sector that includes wood, pulp and paper, electronics, plastics, and textiles. Currently, health care, telecommunications, and services are the fastest growing industries in the region. World class recreational opportunities and nationally recognized universities complement the unique quality of life.

The Council is a leader in the coordination and delivery of regional planning and municipal services with a full-time professional staff of 15 concentrated in four targeted areas:

Economic Development - Business financing and advising, business retention and attraction, assistance to targeted industries, tourism promotion, strategic planning for local economic and community development, and technical support to manufacturers.

Land-Use Planning - All facets of comprehensive planning, including site review, ordinance development, computerized mapping and GIS, downtown revitalization, and capital budgeting.

Transportation Planning - Rural and urban planning for roads, transit, passenger/freight rail, and bicycle and pedestrian facilities, including planning for the Androscoggin Transportation Resource Center (ATRC) committee and the rural transportation planning.

Environmental Management - Lake and ground water protection, watershed planning, pollution prevention, solid waste management, waste reduction and recycling, and hazardous and universal waste collection programs.